Kailash Satyarthi – Nobel Peace Prize winner 2014.


Kailash Satyarthi

 He was born on 11 January 1953 as Kailash Sharma in Madhya Pradesh.

He is an Indian children’s rights activist and a global front runner face against child labour. He founded the Bachpan Bachao Andolan (lit. Save the Childhood Movement) in 1980 and has acted to protect the rights of more than 83,000 children from 144 countries.

It is largely because of Satyarthi’s work and activism that the International Labour Organization adopted Convention No. 182 on the worst forms of child labour, which is now a principal guideline for governments around the world.


Bachpan Bachao Andolan

 It is an India-based movement campaigning for the rights of children. It was started in 1980. Its focus has centered around ending bonded labour, child labour and human trafficking, as well as demanding the right to education for all children. It has so far freed 80,000 children from servitude, including bonded labourers, and helped in their successful re-integration, rehabilitation and education.


His campaigns: 

  • Child Labour Free India Campaign.
  • Right to Education Campaign.
  • Child Domestic Labour Campaign.
  • Mukti Caravan (campaign against child trafficking for forced labour).
  • Missing Children Campaign.



The life and work of Kailash Satyarthi have been the subject of a number of documentaries, television series, talk shows, advocacy and awareness films, Magazines and news items of all leading print and electronic media worldwide. Satyarthi’s contribution has been recognized through several prestigious international awards. These include:


  • Nobel Peace Prize2014
  • Defenders of Democracy Award(2009-USA)
  • Alfonso Comin International Award(2008-Spain)
  • Medal of the Italian Senate(2007-Italy)
  • Heroes Acting to End Modern Day Slavey by US State Department(2007-USA)
  • Freedom Award(2006-USA)
  • In October 2002, Satyarthi was awarded the Wallenberg Medal from the University of Michigan in recognition of his courageous humanitarian work against the exploitation of child labor.
  • Friedrich Ebert Stiftung Award(1999-Germany)
  • La Hospitalet Award(1999-Spain)
  • De Gouden Wimpel Award(1998-Netherlands)
  • Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights Award(1995-USA)
  • The Trumpeter Award(1995-USA)
  • The Aachener International Peace Award(1994-Germany)


He Says, 

“If not Now, then When? If not You, then Who?
If we are able to answer these fundamental questions, then
Perhaps we can wipe away the blot of Human Slavery.”

About The Author

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *